What, where and who we are.

This page holds all the basic information on Tameside National Education Union - NUT Section. 


Tameside Teachers' Association is run by its members who determine policy at the termly General Meetings.

In between General Meetings decisions are taken by a Committee that meets monthly during term time (Carer's Allowances are paid where necessary to allow members to attend).

Tameside Teachers' Association:

  • is a local branch of the National Education Union (NUT Section);

  • is the largest teacher's organisation in Tameside (Greater Manchester);

  • represents its members and negotiates on their behalf with the Local Authority and School Bodies (as appropriate)

Officers & Committee Members

Anne Morgan                      President

Susan Piper                        Vice- President

Anne Slater                         Secretary

Lesley Cook                        Treasurer

Derek Clarke                      Health & Safety Officer

Zac Blinston                       Young Teacher's Officer

Catherine France              Equal Opportunities Officer

Anne Slater                         Union Learning Rep

Sue Piper                             International Solidarity Officer

Anne Morgan                     Supply Teacher's Officer
Patricia Stewart                 Committee

Mark Pollard                     Committee

Julia Roberts                      Committee

Jim Pinder                           Retired Teachers Rep

Derek Clarke                      Teachers' Consultative Committee

Catherine France              Teachers' Consultative Committee


Anne Slater                         Regional Council

Sue Piper                             Regional Council

Derek Clarke                      Regional Council

Anne Morgan                     Regional Council


Anne Slater                          Annual Conference Delegate

Lesley Cook                         Annual Conference Delegate

Anne Morgan                      Annual Conference Delegate

Catherine France               Annual Conference Delegate

Sue Piper                              Annual Conference Delegate